Substance of the Meridian and Acupuncture Points

Author: Prof. Lee, Si-Chen

I. When were Meridian and Acupuncture Points First Documented?

The fundamental theory behind Chinese medicine lies in "Huang Di Nei Jing (Esoteric Scripture of the Yellow Emperor); 黃帝內經." It is commonly believed that "Huang Di Nei Jing (Esoteric Scripture of the Yellow Emperor); 黃帝內經." was written in mid- to latter-day Western Han dynasty becaues its title had first appeard in "Hanshu: Yiwenzi (Book of Han: Treatise on Literature." 》。

 "Hanshu: Yiwenzi (Book of Han: Treatise on Literature." The author based his book on七略》刪其要而成;而《七略which was written as an illustrated book by father-and-son Liu Xiang and Liu Xin during the third year of Western Han's Emperor Cheng's reign, or 26 B.C. In other words, "Huang Di Nei Jing (Esoteric Scripture of the Yellow Emperor); 黃帝內經." must have been written before 26 B.C. Moreover, in 99 B.C., Sima Qian wrote the famous Shiji(Records of the Grand Historian) , which documented various contemporary medicinal studies including those from Gongcheng Yangqing, Cang Gong and Bianque. Nevertheless, the far more important "Huang Di Nei Jing (Esoteric Scripture of the Yellow Emperor); 黃帝內經." was not included. Therefore, it was believed that "Huang Di Nei Jing (Esoteric Scripture of the Yellow Emperor); 黃帝內經." could not have been written during the time of Shiji(Records of the Grand Historian) Therefore, it can be inferred that "Huang Di Nei Jing (Esoteric Scripture of the Yellow Emperor); 黃帝內經." was completed some time after 99 B.C. and before 26 B.C.

 "Huang Di Nei Jing (Esoteric Scripture of the Yellow Emperor); 黃帝內經." comprehensively introduced its readers to the 14 meridians, or energy pathways, including 12 major meridians and the conception vessel (CV) and the governor vessle (GV), 15 main collaterals, as well as the 365 acupuncture points on these meridians. Additionally, the book also talked about an additional 365 minor collaterals that connect our skin to the main collaterals. It is likely that each acupuncture point is connected to a minor collateral, and the acupuncture points are also the gateways for Qi to enter and to leave our bodies. It can be inferred that a complex system of meridians and collaterals runs throughout the human body and covers us from head to toe like a net, where the points of connection between the main or minor collaterals to the meridians are the acupuncture points.

 "Huang Di Nei Jing (Esoteric Scripture of the Yellow Emperor); 黃帝內經." 

II. Do Meridians and Collaterals Truly Exist?

The human meridian system is used whether during Chinese acupuncture sessions, or during Nambudripad's allergy elimination techniques, which is a form of information medicine. In addition, the phenomenon of the 24-hour energy flow throughout the body's meridians and collaterals according to the "midnight-noon and ebb-flow doctrine" is also utilized in these practices. But the real question is, does the meridian system, of which the Chinese medicine has emphasized for thousands of years, truly exist? Or was it simply a theory that the ancient folks created to express and explain the propagated sensation along the channels from receiving acupuncture treatment that they have observed?

In similar cases, the geocentric model proposed by Claudius Ptolemy (Claudius Ptolemaeus) in the second century, which explained the orbits of the Sun, planets, the moon, and stars in the sky was popular in Europe for 1,500 years, and it was not displaced until Copernicus' heliocentrism model. Additionally, 17th century chemists believed in the concept of "phlogiston" to explain the concept of burning. It was merely a theory and did not mean that it was real. As a matter of fact, it was proven wrong.

Similarly, presently, a branch of western physicians in China believe that the ancient people had indeed observed the propagated sensation along the channels and had therefore created a false theory of meridians and collaterals. These physicians believe that it is as futile to search for these channels as it was to search for the phlogiston, and that resources and manpower should be dedicated to the applications of the propagated sensation along the channels andacupuncture channel medicine.Though details of such arguments are beside the point, whether the channels (meridians and collaterals) exist should a question empirically solved by science. If these channels truly exist, we need to understand their actual structures, and what roles do they play in our physical health?

In 1950, Dr. Yoshio Nakatani from Kyoto University in Japan found that the acupuncture points were "ryodoten," or electropermeable points (EPP) for electricity, while the meridians were "ryodoraku," or "line of high electrical conductivity." He was the first person to find that the meridians and collaterals formed a network of high electrical conductivity throughout the body. In 1985, Dr. Zhu Zhongxiang from the Institute of Biophysics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, realized that the meridian network was also a "ryodoraku" for propagating low-frequency soundwaves. To solve the question of whether the meridians existed, Chinese Acupuncture & Moxibustion Association was formed in China in 1986. In that year, the research on meridians was also included as a key topic in the "7-5" (the 7th five-year-plan) of China's State Scientific and Technological Commission. Subsequently, this research was also included as a key topic in the two following five-year plans, "8-5" and "9-5."

Many indirect evidence regarding the existence of the meridian system was found during the three consecutive five-year plans. For instance, during "8-5," Dr. Hu Xianglong from Fujian Chinese Medicine Research Center chaired a large-scale survey with 63,228 participants, and found that consistent with ancient scriptures, the phenomenon of the propagated sensation along the channels 」、「氣趨病灶and using Qi to eliminate lesions were real. The ratio of its occurrence was 78%, which far exceeds the 25% that should have occurred from placebo effect. Acupuncture works best when Qi is involved.

At the same time, it was also found that the propagated sensation in some people was different from what was traditionally described. In addition, the "belts" of their propagated sensation were much wider than what was drawn in ancient scriptures; some formed a wide 2-5cm belt that was more sensitive in the 2-3mm in the middle. Its position may move horizontally along with the acupuncture position, and sometimes the belts themselves change as well based on their overall health. Dramatic changes in meridians and collaterals may even be observed in some individuals with particular diseases. Since the meridians did not have fixed positions like veins or arteries, it also made it difficult to see them even during dissection. Based on the aforementioned findings, large-scale research has proven the phenomenon witnessed by the ancient Chinese, and the physical experiments of sound, light, electricity, and water flow also indirectly proved that there seemed to be a completely different functional system in our bodies than the normal organs.

In 2003, Zhang Weibo from the Institute of Acupuncture and Moxibustion, CACMS, published results of animal experiment which indicated that the meridian system in fish had low hydraulic resistance and low interstitital fluid pressure (IFP) characters, and he proposed that the meridian system had high water conductivity. American scientists also published a paper in "Scientific Reports" magazine in 2018 that announced the finding of an unknown "new organ" in the human body - a fluid-filled "interstitium." Using the latest technology, they found a "fluid-filled highway." This news quickly went viral and started a buzz among all mainstream media and tech media in the United States. A research team headed by New York University stated that the newfound interstitium network is found throughout the body, and they are located underneath the surface of the skin, along the digestive tract, lungs and the urinary system, as well as around arteries, veins, and along the fascia that surrounds muscles. Many believe that this is the meridian system in Chinese medicine.

A diagram of the meridian system

 III. Meridian System is a Low Torsion Field Refracting Network of Myofascial Collagen

In 2014, our research team proved that message X existed in molecules (i.e. the molecular torsion field structure). Message X could penetrate walls and generate biochemical reactions with receiving molecules on the other side of the wall. At that time, we immediately inferred that perhaps this is the message being transmitted within the meridian system. The meridian system is a high-speed network on which the message X of various important molecules shall travel throughout our bodies before cell division. This is the true reason for the 24-hour energy flow throughout the body in the midnight-noon and ebb-flow doctrine. This high-speed network regulates the functions throughout our body parts; it is the fastest, most effective information communication system there is.

When message X is traveling along the high-speed network, it will disperse or get stuck when the road is uneven or comes across a forked route. Therefore, the most ideal network component would be a molecular structure with a long-range order (LRO). This orderly structure will make it easier to transmit shockwaves without decreasing them. They could be low-frequency lines of high electrical conductivity (like the ones found by Professor Zhu Zhongxiang), and could also have lower hydraulic resistance, like the low interstitital fluid pressure (IFP) in fish found by Zhang Weibo.

Dr. Qian Pingfan of Zhejiang Gongshang University studied nutrition. He discovered through laboratory mice experiment that the free radicals carrying oxygen molecules would gather at the meridian system of the mice. The free radicals would dispose of their excess electrodes at these orderly structures, and similar to what was described in the midnight-noon and ebb-flow doctrine of Chinese medicine, they would be concentrated at different organs at different times throughout the day. If these phenomenon also existed in human bodies, it could be used to explain Dr. Yoshio Nakatani's findings - that the meridian system was a line of high electrical conductivity. Since the meridians were conductive, they could quickly disperse of the excess electrodes from the free radicals to prevent the free radicals from attacking normal cells.

I personally believe that the most likely long-range order (LRO) is none other than the collagen molecule. It is a part of the blood vessels in bones as well as the main structure in binding muscle tissues and cells. In terms of spatial structure, collagen shows a special triple helix structure, much resembling a trigonal crystal. Three independent collagen peptide chains form a hydrogen bond through glycine, which connects the triple helix structure. This special triple helix structure in collagen ensures its mechanical strength. The triple helix is found throughout the body and account for 25% to 35% of all protein found in the human body; it is a structural protein used in binding cells to one another. The message X can use a vortex (similar to a tornado) method to circle throughout our body 24 hours a day, 7 days a week along the collagen's smooth long molecular chain, on which the message X will control and adjust the functioning of different body parts. It does not necessarily need to travel in a straight line; it could also travel in a zig zag as long as the path is accessible and barrier-free. In addition, the acupuncture points are connecting points between minor collaterals and the meridians. In other words, where message X is prone to be stuck. By adjusting the acupuncture points through acupuncture, we can untangle the network connectivity, thereby facilitating message X to pass and to improve our physical well-being.

Some anatomical evidence regarding the view that the meridian system is a motorized, orderly structure came in 2001. This evidence came from Thomas W. Myers' book in 2001, titled "Anatomy Trains."  After a significant number of dissections, Myers proposed that there is a myofascial network in the human body, and that the muscles and bones are not separately or independently moving, but rather, are functioning as a comprehensive model. Presently, nearly all textbooks depict muscles as upper and lower points on the bones when conveying muscular functions. These textbooks do not convey neural connectivity to blood vessels, nor do they depict the connections to the organs. Instead, they explain the functions of the individual muscles without elaborating on the vertical integrations between muscles and fascia or discuss their functions. As a matter of fact, Myers believes that the entire body would react when movement is generated by any part of the body. This reaction uses a network formed by connective tissues to transmit motor movement. Connective tissues are collagenous networks between cells, extraceullar matrix, and fascial net. Surprisingly, the part regarding fascial net is identity to many parts of the 12 major meridians in the human body according to Chinese medicine, and it is also very close to my substantial interpretation of the meridian network.

IV. Message X Cannot Pass Through Water Flow

In the meridian model I proposed, meridians and collaterals were high-speed networks for message X, which is essentially a torsion field structure. Since torsion field stops whenever it meets water, it would be absorbed and would stop all motor functions when it touches water. Therefore, message X cannot pass through water flow, function under water, nor could it be transmitted in liquid-filled interstitium. Therefore, the new organ found by New York University may not be related to the meridian system.

Note:

The original intention of Aqive Technology to launch the Qi Box series  and  the Qi Crystal series is to help enhance the sensitivity to the meridian, and to better understand the sense of qi and its own aura.

English

經絡與穴道的實質 - Aqive 氣機科技

經絡與穴道的實質

作者:李嗣涔教授

一、經絡與穴道的紀載何時出現 ?

中醫的理論基礎奠基於《黃帝內經》。一般認為《黃帝內經》成書於西漢中後期,因為其書名最早見於《漢書·藝文志》。

漢書·藝文志》作者班固是根據《七略》刪其要而成;而《七略》是西漢劉向、劉歆父子作為圖書分類目類來主持的,時間是西漢成帝河平三年,也就是公元前26年。也就是《黃帝內經》成書必須在公元前26年以前。而公元前99年司馬遷編著《史記》,史記中記載不少當代的醫學,如公乘陽慶、倉公、扁鵲等,但唯獨沒有記載更為重要的《黃帝內經》,所以被認為《黃帝內經》不可能早於寫《史記》的時代。從上述推論,《黃帝內經》大約是在公元前99之後到公元前26年完成。

黃帝內經》中詳細的介紹了十二經脈加上任督二脈共有十四經脈、15絡脈及經脈上面的365個穴道,也提及另有365個孫絡脈連接表皮及絡脈。似乎每一個穴道都有一孫絡脈連接,而穴道也是氣的進出出口。由此看來人體有一個縱橫交錯的經絡體系遍佈全身,像一個網子一樣罩住全身,而絡脈或孫絡脈與經脈的連接點就是穴道。

黃帝內經

二、經絡真的存在嗎 ?

不論是中醫用針灸治病,或屬於信息醫學的南氏去過敏法,都要用到人體的經絡體系,並充分運用子午流注24小時氣循環全身經絡一周的現象。但問題是,中醫幾千年所講的經絡體系真的客觀存在嗎 ? 還是只是古人創造出來的一套理論用來闡述解釋所觀察到的針灸循經感傳現象?

就如同西元第二世紀托勒密(Claudius Ptolemaeus)提出的天體運行模型,可以解釋太陽、行星、月亮和恆星在天上運動的情形,在歐洲流行了1500年,直到哥白尼提出太陽中心論才把它推翻。也如同17世紀的化學家,為了解釋燃燒現象的成因而發明了物質具有燃素的概念。這只是一種理論,不表示它真的存在。事實上後來證明是錯的。

同理,現今中國大陸有一派西醫師,認為古人的確觀察到「循經感傳」現象,因而創造出虛幻的經絡理論,花力氣去找經絡就跟找燃素一樣是走錯了方向,而應集中資源人力在「經脈現象」及「經脈醫學」的應用。不管爭議如何,經絡存在與否的議題是科學上一定要解決的問題。如果經絡存在的話,我們就必須了解它的實際結構為何?扮演甚麼樣的生理角色。

1950年,日本京都大學中谷義雄教授發現穴道是電的良導點,而經絡是電的良導絡,首先發現經絡是身體上一條條導電良好的組織結構。1985年中國科學院生物物理研究所的祝總驤教授,發現經絡也是傳播低頻聲波的良導絡,中國大陸為解決這些經絡存在於否問題,於1986年成立中國針灸學會經絡研究會。同年,經絡的研究被納入國家科學技術委員會「七五」(第七個五年計畫)的攻關課題,接下來兩個五年計畫「八五」、「九五」經絡的研究也被列為攻關計畫。

連續三個五年的國家型計劃找到很多經絡存在的間接證據, 比如福建中醫研究所胡翔龍大夫在「八五」攻關時期,主持一項63,228人大規模調查統計,發現「循經感傳」、「氣趨病灶」現象的確是實際存在的現象,與古代典籍紀錄的一致。出現比例高達78 %,遠高於安慰劑效應應該出現的比例 25%。針灸要能得氣療效才好。

同時也發現,有些人的感傳路線與傳統描述的路線不完全一致,而且路線很粗,不是古書上所畫的細線,而是一條寬帶邊緣2-5公分,中間 2-3 釐米較敏感,位置會隨針刺位置移動而平移,路線有時也會變化,會隨這個人健康狀況而變,在某些特殊疾病下,甚至可以觀察到經絡路線的大幅變化。所以經絡不像血管一樣有固定的管道,這也是解剖不容易看到的主要原因。所以,大規模研究的結果證實了古人觀察到的現象,聲、光、電、水流的物理測量也間接闡明了似乎身體是有一套系統在運作與正常組織不同。

2003年中國中醫科學院針灸研究所張維波提出動物實驗證據,顯示魚的經絡對水有低流阻、低組織液壓的特性,提出經絡是水的良導絡。2018年美國科學家在《Scientific Reports》雜誌中發表論文,宣布發現了人體内一個未知的‘’新器官‘’充满流體的‘’間質组織‘’。他們利用最新技術發現了一條「流體的高速公路」。這一新聞發佈後,引起轟動,美國所有主流媒體,科技媒體全部為之振奮,以紐约大學為首的研究團隊表示,這一新發现的質液网络遍布全身,它們所處的位置有皮膚表層下方,沿著消化道,肺和泌尿系统,圍绕動脉,静脉和肌肉之間的筋膜。很多人認為,這就是中醫的人體「經絡」。

經絡圖

 三、經絡是撓場低散射的肌經膜膠原蛋白網路

我們研究團隊在2014年證明分子具有 X信息(也就是分子撓場時空結構),可以穿牆破壁,與牆的另一邊的受體分子產生生物化學反應時,馬上推想到這也許就是經絡裡面傳導的信息。 經絡是一條高速網路系統,在細胞分裂之前, 許多重要分子的X信息必須沿著高速網路走完全身,這也是一天24小時子午流注氣循環全身的真正成因。這套高速網路系統扮演著調控全身各部分功能的作用,是一套最快最有效的信息通信系統。

X信息沿著高速網路在運動時,碰到不平或分叉的路會一定被散射彈離或卡住,因此最理想的網路元件就是有很長鍵有序的分子結構。這種有秩序的結構比較容易傳送震動波,不容易衰減,可以是低頻聲波的良導絡(如祝總驤教授所發現),也對水流有較低的阻抗,如張維波在魚身上所發現的低硫阻通道一樣。

浙江工商大學錢平凡教授是位研究食品營養的學者,他從老鼠實驗發現,帶的氧分子的自由基會向老鼠的經脈集中,把多的電子丟給這些有序結構,而且隨著每天不同的時辰,會集中在不同的內臟附近,類似中醫子午流注所描述的規律。如果這些現象也在人身上出現的話,就可以解釋中谷義雄所發現的,經絡是是電的良導絡,因為上面有很多電子可以導電,可以把自由基多餘的電子快速疏散掉,以免自由基攻擊正常細胞。

我心目中認為最有可能的有序長鍵分子,就是膠原蛋白分子。它是骨骼血管構成的一部分,也是黏合肌肉纖維以及細胞與細胞間的主要結構。在空間結構上膠原蛋白顯示出特殊的三股螺旋纏繞的結構,很像是三方晶系的水晶。三條相互獨立的膠原蛋白肽鏈依靠甘氨酸之間形成的氫鍵,維繫三股螺旋相互纏繞的結構。 膠原蛋白這種特殊的三股螺旋結構保證了它的機械強度。這種三股螺旋遍佈全身數量佔全身蛋白質的 25%~35%,是細胞間黏合用的結構蛋白質。X信息可以沿著通暢的分子長鏈,以渦漩方式(像龍捲風) 24小時循環全身,調控協調全身各部分的運作。他不一定走一直線,可以像是走九曲橋一樣運動,只要哪裡暢通就往哪走。而穴道是孫絡與經脈的連接點,也是X信息容易卡住的地方,用針刺或灸調整穴道,就容易疏通網路連結點幫助X信息通過,改善身體健康。

經絡是機械式有序的組織結構的觀點於2001年出現了一些解剖的的證據。這項證據來自湯瑪士‧邁爾(Thomas W. Myers 2001年所出的書《解剖列車》(Anatomy Trains)。他經過大量的解剖提出假說,認為人體有一個肌筋膜經線網絡,肌肉骨骼並非分離的單獨運動,而是以一個整體模式在運作。現在幾乎所有的教科書在呈現肌肉的功能時,都是在骨骼上將肌肉分成上下的接點,除去神經與血管的連接,並與附近局部組織結構脫離,單獨分離一塊肌肉出來說明它的運動,不曾列出肌肉與筋膜間的縱向連結或討論它們的功能。實際上,他認為身體任何一部分產生動作時,全身都有反應,這個反應是靠結締組織 (connective tissue)所形成的網絡來傳遞機械動作。結締組織就是細胞與細胞間的膠原網絡(collagenous network)、細胞外基質網絡(extracellular matrix)或筋膜網絡(fascial net)。令人驚奇的是,肌筋膜經線部分與中醫人體十二經線很多部分重合,與我對經絡實質的推測非常接近。

四、X信息無法通過水的流道

在我建議的經絡模型中,經絡是X信息的高速網路,X信息的本質是撓場時空結構,由於撓場「遇水則止」,因此碰到水就被吸收不能再運動,因此X信息無法通過水的流道,更無法在水中運動,或在充滿液體的間質傳遞,因此紐約大學所發現的新器官可能與經絡無關。

編注:

氣機科技推出盒炁通寶系列御釀晶炁系列的初衷,就是希望幫助提升對經絡的敏感性,更瞭解氣感與自身的氣場狀況。

Chinese